An NYC first timer

When I wasn’t attending seminars at this year’s College Media Association’s spring national college media convention in New York City, I was exploring the city, which was completely new to me.

March 9, 2013

During my first night there, strolling around Times Square, I saw ABC Family “Bunheads” actress Julia Goldani Telles.  Unfortunately, I must admit I regret not asking to get a photo with her!

March 10, 2013

The next night, with Gatepost Associate Editor Kerrin Murray and my Co-News Editor Kathleen McDonough, I ate supper at Guy Fieri’s Guy’s American Kitchen and Bar where I had the spicy “Volcano Chicken.”  After that, we got dessert at NYC’s Cake Boss bakery.  I got a mini cheese cake with a giant chocolate covered strawberry on top, that I can only describe as divine.

While walking around, deciding what to do that night, we found ourselves at a cross walk with the Duggars from TLC’s “19 Kids and Counting.”  We found out later that they were on the “Today Show” the next day.

View from ESB

A view of New York City from the Empire State Building.

We concluded the night by getting a view of NYC from the Empire State Building.  As cheesy as it may sound, it truly was breathtaking.  I’m so glad we went there.

March 11, 2013

Grand Central Terminal

Grand Central turns 100 this year.

On our last night there, Kerrin and I walked to Grand Central Terminal, where we walked around inside and took plenty of photos.

On our way back to our hotel, we walked by the New York Public Library, where we also got some great pictures.

NYPL

The New York Public Library – beautiful even at night.

I loved the time I had in NYC.  I hope I’ll be back some day!

The photos featured in this post were taken by me.

Leave a Reply

